I had been noticing that mom and dad had been reading this book on sleep by Ferber.  I didn’t think it was necessary – I was sleeping fine as long as they rocked me when I went to sleep and the 10 times I would get up at night.  Well last night mom and dad put me down to sleep at 7:40 and then they left.  No rocking, no nothing!  Man did that make me mad.  So I cried at the top of my lungs.  In three minutes they came and checked up on me but then they didn’t pick me up and rock me.  What was wrong with them.  I decided to cry for another 8 minutes and then it was just too much work so I went to sleep on my own.  I slept for an hour and forty-five minutes.  When I woke up this time I cried a lot harder – I was worried they couldn’t hear me.  They came in twice but again they didn’t pick me up.  This time it took a total of nine minutes for me to sleep.   Then I slept until midnight and needed some rocking to get back to sleep.  No luck – I cried for 25 minutes and had to sleep on my own but I did it.  I slept until 3:50 and this time mom got me and fed me and then put me right down to sleep.  I finally woke up at 6 with a smile on face.


Solve Your Child’s Sleep Problems: New, Revised, and Expanded Edition

